Washington County is located north of Douglas County along the Missouri River. This eastern Nebraska county is named after our country first president and is home to Blair, Fort Calhoun and Arlington. Blair, population 8,000, is its largest city and county seat.

Washington County is rich in Western history. Fur trappers traded with Native Americans here before Nebraska became a state in 1867. Explorers Lewis and Clark blazed a trail through here in 1804. The area’s history is preserved at the Washington County Historical Museum in Fort Calhoun.

Learn more about Washington County by contacting the Blair Area Chamber of Commerce at blairchamber.org or (402) 533-4455.

Discover Activities in Washington County

View More